FE: A bitter rivalry has emerged in Formula E

Lucas di Grassi and Nelson Piquet Junior are fighting for the inaugural Formula E Championship and with four races to go their rivalry has grown increasingly bitter. Piquet accused di Grassi of blocking him during qualifying at Monaco and since that point the following war of words has played out between the two:

Lucas di Grassi

“The way I approach racing, I don’t complain, I do my job. Nelson has been complaining a lot.”

“I don’t think he (Piquet) is the strongest rival. He has just had a good run in the last few races.”

Nelson Piquet Junior

“We have raced together in many series and I have always been in front of him, there is no comparison.”

“Since we raced together, Lucas has never really fought for a championship before. He has always been close but never there.”

“I’ve won championships in Brazil, national go karts, F3 championships. I’ve won championships in England, British F3, so I think he (di Grassi) is the least of my worries.”

Di Grassi was disqualified from the latest race in Berlin, handing the championship lead to Piquet.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

