Tag Archives: Joey Mawson

A summary of the top European F3 contenders in 2017

Formula 3 will be the third different category in which Joey Mawson, Harrison Newey, and Mick Schumacher have raced against each other. Mawson had a clear advantage when they were all teammates in German F4 (and beat Schumacher to the title last year with twice as many victories) but the trio now seem to be a bit closer. Between them they won 14 of 16 races in the recent MRF challenge and Newey narrowly claimed the title after passing Mawson in the final laps of the final race.

Schumacher is with the Prema Powerteam who have won the last seven championships in a row so they will give him the best possible chance of success. Mick is fast but tends to make mistakes so he will need to match speed with consistency to prove he is more than just a surname. His teammates will be Callum Ilott and Maximilian Gunther who are two of the strongest drivers from last year to line up again. Gunther was the 2016 runner up to Lance Stroll whilst Ilott (who was once part of the Red Bull young driver program) took six podiums and a pair of victories. Both are expecting to be title contenders.

Ilott and Gunther were outscored by Joel Eriksson over the final 6 races in 2016. Eriksson was very consistent with 10 podiums and will be a title threat this year if those 2nds and 3rds turn into wins. In the final race of 2016, Eriksson was joined on the podium by Jake Hughes who performed well in a one-off guest appearance. Hughes joins Formula 3 full-time this year after winning multiple races in last year’s faster GP3 championship. In theory this should be quite good preparation against a field of less experienced runners.

If any of the seven drivers above want to win the title in 2017, they will have to beat Lando Norris. The 17 year old is part of McLaren’s young driver program and won three different single-seater championships last year alone. He is one of the best young drivers in the world and, after proving quick in testing, he will be hard to beat.

Check out Motorsport Snippets on Facebook

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The MRF Challenge championship went down to the last 5 laps


The MRF Challenge is a 4 round 16 race championship that takes place throughout India and the Middle East. The competition offers young drivers a chance to prepare themselves during the off-season and the 2016-17 title was hotly fought between F3 graduates Harrison Newey, Joey Mawson, and Mick Schumacher. Interestingly the trio used to be teammates at Van Amersfoort in the 2015 German F4 championship and know each other very well. Mawson was comfortably the strongest of the three back in 2015 but he no longer enjoys the same advantage. They all went into the final round of the MRF season in Chennai with a shot at winning the championship.

Mick Schumacher had the fewest points so had to take the most risks. With that in mind his championship chances ended against the barriers in the penultimate race leaving Newey and Mawson in a straight fight for the championship in the final.

Mawson held a narrow points lead so could guarantee himself the title with first or second. He was looking good when he assumed the lead from pole position but with 5 laps to go the championship fight turned on its head. Newey had been piling the pressure on Mawson from second place and here he describes the crucial turning point.

“I think he dropped one wheel on the dirt but just didn’t have the best exit. Obviously I was close to him always but it just put me a bit closer. He half defended and thought I was too far back so he came back out of it, and when he came back out I just went for it and obviously went quite deep into the corner which allowed Mick to get past as well.”

Taking the lead wasn’t enough for Newey – even with Mawson dropping to third – because he also required two bonus points for fastest lap to make up the deficit. This created an interesting situation where Newey had to push to the limit all the way until the finish and the championship wouldn’t be decided until everyone had seen the chequered flag.

When the dust settled, Newey and Mawson finished on the same number of points, but Harrison was crowned champion courtesy of taking more wins throughout the series. It is his first major trophy. Mawson was understandably gutted but there is no doubting Newey was a deserving champion.


Check out Motorsport Snippets on Facebook


Tagged , , , , , , , ,